Skip to main content

Achieving $300k cash before the clock hits 30

When I first started blogging (cue the first blog post), I set myself a goal to save $100k by 28.
$100k cash, excluding CPF.
I achieved this at 25.

I even thought my $100k would drop downwards after paying for flat, reno, kids. But who would have known that my chance to get a flat would only happen at 27, and my savings grew and grew?

$200k at 28
At 28, I hit $200k cash savings. It took me 3 years to grow another $100k. 
If not for the fact that I've been topping up $14k annually to mum and my CPF RA/SA, spendings on wedding, house related stuff and frequent holidays, I would have much more cash on hand. But, that can't be real, that's not living - those money have to be spent.

If not for the fact that I've pumped $80k over the past 7 years into stocks, of which the paper value is now only at $60k+, I'd been $80k "richer". The converse could be said if I've great investment capabilities to grow $80k to $100k 🙃

Anyway...
As I edge closer to 30 ⏰, I've ano…

My tips on how I accumulated $100k before 28




In my previous post, I talked about how I've hit my goal of saving $100k cash before 28. Here are some of my personal saving tips:

Park your money in a high interest savings account 

  • I started off with POSB Kids Savings then switched to FRANK account in Uni and then to OCBC 360 after I started work. The interests offered by OCBC 360 is so far one of the best. 1.2% on salary crediting and 0.5% on paying 3 bills. Clocked my expenses on other credit cards instead of OCBC, so I only have 1.7% p.a on my 360. It does help me in achieving my goal faster. But, if a better savings account comes along, I'll just jump the ship.
  • Update as at 3 Aug - I've jumped the ship to BOC SmartSaver!

Park your remaining money in a fixed deposit

  • Since only the first $60k enjoys attractive interest, why park the remaining amount for the low base rate? I'm always on the look out for fixed deposits, which unfortunately has been disappointing this year, and would place a $10k to $25k in them for a year. 
  • Fixed deposits that I've registered for were the POSB 1.88% CNY Promotion, CIMB deposits and recently, a Maybank FD jointly opened with my partner. I've recently opened a SBI FD at $10,000 for 1.6% interest. Why not earn that extra 1.6%?

Sign up for rebates credit and debit cards

  • I shop mostly online so I'm always on the lookout for CCs that offer high rebates on online spendings. I used to swipe my FRANK CC often but after they changed their T&Cs, it just sucks. I now use the StanChart Singpost CC for my spendings. Good that it offered me $138 cashback when I signed up for the Manhattan card as well. However, do bear in mind that you'll need to hit a minimum spending of $600. I don't spend that much every month la, but when I'm nearing the min spending, I'll just purchase some vouchers so I can hit the minimum spending to get my rebates lor. Ok, actually, this is not a very good tip cause I sometimes spend more just to get the rebates LOL
  • Contemplating on signing the ANZ Platinum card which offers 5% rebates on your choice of category. Any comments?
  • [Updated] Signed up for the DBS Visa Debit which offers 5% cashback on Visa paywave purchases. Yay!

Buy via cashback sites

  • Ever since I got to know of shopback, I've been milking it for my online purchases. So far, I've clocked $70+ which I've cashed out a few times!
  • There's another site called ebates but I think it sucks. I registered hoping to get US$5 with my Groupon purchase but they said I'm not eligible because I've signed up before. I'm like, what? How do I register an account if I've signed up before? Anyway, I've never used that since then. But, just FYI.

Buy only when there's a discount and always compare price

  • I sign up for lots of newsletters from blogshops, to online merchants like Zalora, Lazada, to department stores like Metro and Robinsons. 
  • I try my best to buy things that I need (and sometimes want) when there's a sale or when I have discount codes to utilise. Also, I'll compare prices on a few sites before making my purchases just so I want to pay the least bucks :P
  • Recently, I bought a leather wallet which I've been contemplating for a long time. I've always purchased wallets that are les than $50 but this time, I bought one that is in a 3 digits figure. I went around to various department stores scouring for deals, but...they are all priced the same after discount. In the end, I settled for Tangs because I get to clock a 6% rebate with my card. How's that?

Sell your unwanted items

  • I occasionally sell my brand new items on carousell. Responses are not high, but I've managed to sell a few cosmetics, rather than leaving them around. Do this to earn some bucks!

Track your monthly expenses and tally it against your CC bills

  • You can budget like most people do, but I don't. I think I've a pretty good self-control and I don't spend money frivolously, so I dont really set budget on myself and limit what I buy. My daily expenses tracking is just so I know what I spent on, especially to tally with my CC bills.
  • Btw, if you realise, I have not been updating my monthly expenses on this blog because 1) I'm lazy 2) I don't think it's interesting enough for people to know :X

Invest in shares, if you know how

  • Disclaimer: No tips on this cause I'm still learning or may never learn since I don't really bother much on shares. The bulk of my savings come from the above. 
  • I started with my first ever share - Sabana REITS. I was attracted by the high dividend yield and purchased 5 lots at $1.08+ in 2013. It has been giving me really good dividends, but if you know the current stock price of this, you'll probably laugh at my mistake. 
  • I bought another share, Kimheng Offshore, during their IPO. HAHA, now I'm laughing because of how this stock price dropped like grapes. 
  • If the amount I spent on these 2 stocks were still in my bank, I'd have achieved my $100k goal much earlier!
  • That said, if you invest well, the dividends and payouts might be a substantial amount!

Lastly, I do not take taxis

  • I'm sorry to the taxi drivers out there. I'm not spoiling your business but I'm trying to say that the reason I could save more was because I control my spendings. I can count the number of times I took the taxis in the last 5 years using 2 hands. Most of the times, I just take the MRT, buses or get ferried around by my partner when we paktor. If I really have to take taxis, these are times when I am going to an ulu place, coming or going to the airport at ungodly timings OR for work trips.

Comments

  1. These are great tips on saving money and very doable by young working adults!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hey there - this is the first time I've visited your blog, but I'm glad I did. Here's a belated congratulations to ya!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hey,

    I am a very satisfied customer of ANZ Optimum Card.

    http://heartlandboy.com/best-rebate-credit-card-for-frequent-travellers/

    Just remember to renew your category every quarter even if you are not changing category.


    Rgds,

    Heartland Boy

    ReplyDelete
  4. You should buy STI ETF instead of REITs

    ReplyDelete

Post a comment

No rude messages please. Unkind messages and spams will be blocked and deleted.

Popular posts from this blog

Extremely bad start with UOB One

With the influx of posts on social media re UOB One (psst on grabpay) and the receipt of my house keys, I decided it was the time to sign up for a UOB One account plus credit card.

It was gonna be the best tool for household joint expenses and joint savings.

However, I've faced multiple hiccups that made me VERY frustrated....WHY ME?!
1. Delayed approving process led to losing out of sign up bonus
First, I signed up for the UOB One card and Account in early Oct through Singsaver's promotion. The promotion said that I'd get to enjoy cash incentive for registration + UOB's promotion of $80 cash credit with min $1k spent within 30 days of card approval. Mind you, these terms were stated to end on 31 Oct, extracted below:

S$80 Cash Credit for UOB One Account: Limited to the first 500 new to UOB Deposits customers who either (i) deposit and maintain $5,000 or (ii) credit their salary, into their new UOB account for 6 consecutive months. Terms and conditions of the UOB Online …

What the luck? DBS and OCBC banking tokens died!

What luck. My ibanking tokens went dead one after another.

OCBC Token

First was my OCBC token. It said "low battery", but I ignored it.

And when I finally need to use it, it was dead. Granted that I could use SMS OTP, I had to make a big transfer to other banks and it was over the withdrawal limits. And to do that, I needed the ibanking token.




And serve me right for not activating the onetoken.

In the end, I had to call in to OCBC call centre for a replacement. 7 working days, they said. What a long wait.

In the midst of it, I needed to make my interbank transfers. I even went down to OCBC bank and explored a stupid manual way i.e to withdraw cash and deposit into the other bank. But the moment they told me they ran out of big notes, I got scared.

While waiting for the token to arrive, I figured I could actually do transfers in smaller amounts, but had to bear with a daily cap. Sigh.

And, one week later, my OCBC token arrived.

How efficient.

DBS token

And it was time, the DBS …

Ending 2019 with extra $6,000 in CPF

One of the best feelings in the world is seeing more $ in my accounts.

At the end of 2019, I received an extra $6,000 for my CPF.

Total CPF stands at $140k. I intend to top up $7,000 into my SA this month for tax-relief purposes.

Have you checked out yours yet? :)