Skip to main content

Achieving $300k cash before the clock hits 30

When I first started blogging (cue the first blog post), I set myself a goal to save $100k by 28.
$100k cash, excluding CPF.
I achieved this at 25.

I even thought my $100k would drop downwards after paying for flat, reno, kids. But who would have known that my chance to get a flat would only happen at 27, and my savings grew and grew?

$200k at 28
At 28, I hit $200k cash savings. It took me 3 years to grow another $100k. 
If not for the fact that I've been topping up $14k annually to mum and my CPF RA/SA, spendings on wedding, house related stuff and frequent holidays, I would have much more cash on hand. But, that can't be real, that's not living - those money have to be spent.

If not for the fact that I've pumped $80k over the past 7 years into stocks, of which the paper value is now only at $60k+, I'd been $80k "richer". The converse could be said if I've great investment capabilities to grow $80k to $100k 🙃

As I edge closer to 30 ⏰, I've ano…

Mid-Year Finance Stocktake - Total net worth: $256k

Hi there. We're now halfway to the end of 2017. Time flies isn't it?

I remembered (actually I didn't, only realised when I looked through my blog posts), blogging about my "achievements" in 2016 at the start of the year. For the past half year, things was rather smooth-sailing. Work was ok, I had a 10% increase in my salary, bonus was decent considering the market outlook now, and I've also added in a few stocks to my portfolio....of which only Keppel Reits earned me some money. The rest were disappointing but thank god I won't lose my sleep or sanity over the losses.

Truth be told, I haven't been monitoring my finances. I've been lazy keying in my daily expenses. Previously, I was diligently clocking what I spent and monitoring my budget because of my eagerness to hit $100k. Now that that's fulfilled, my next goal is to hit $200k in cash savings by 28. I seem to have lesser motivation to keep track of my monies now. But here's a breakdown of my inflows and outflows based on what I managed to track:


Over the past half year, my total spends stood at around $17000. That seems a lot considering I'm a single lady living with my parents. The breakdown is as follows:
- Food expenses: around $2k
(I've been paying a lot of the meals with my credit card to get cashback but there are times when I don't hit the minimum spendings)

- Shopping expenses: around $12k
bkk air tix and 1 jb hotel stay
online shopping - may have to curb my spendings a bit, but I swear I've been buying useful and value-for-money items!

- Allowances to parents: $3k


My earnings stood at slightly less than $4k. Earnings include money gained from interests, dividends, I counted money my bf owed me for our joint acct here as well and...ang bao money :)


Now here's a rough overview of my current finances:

In terms of insurance coverage, these are what I have:
- Hospitalisation plan: NTUC Income Enhanced Incomeshield Preferred with Plus Rider
- Death - $200k
- C.I - $100k
- Early C.I - $100k

Total net worth stands at $256k. I've no benchmark so I'm not sure how I fare, but I'm pretty glad for my sizeable liquid fund.

If you'd like to know how I managed to save $100k before 25, read here and here.

Till then!


  1. Well done on your net worth progress! That's a decent amount of cash savings at your age. Just be prepared for future cash drains like having a wedding, buying a property and moving out, etc. It might have a negative impact on your net worth but I'm sure you will recover in no time!:)

    1. Thank you! I'm trying to make my money work even harder but so far, I'm just parking them into FDs as much as I can. Not very high interest rates, but better than parking in other savings account :)

      Yup, my glory will last until I have a house and get married hahah!!

  2. Congrats on the milestone and keep up the good work in your road to achieving financial freedom!

    Noticed you mentioned that you don't hit the required minimum spending for the credit card, maybe one of the following might help even though the returns might not be tangible :|

    i) Using the Standard Chartered Unlimited Cashback or HSBC Advance Credit Card due to no min spending requirement, can even take advantage of the promotional cashback if eligible

    ii) Making use of ez-reload and link to your credit card since transport is likely recurring monthly (some banks don't count them towards spending but I think BOC still accepts)

    iii) Paying phone/cable tv bills online. Instead of using Giro or IB, you can choose to make online credit card payments to Singtel & Starhub. Coupled with your parents' or boyfriend's bills, you can more easily accumulate the required amounts!

    As Finance Smiths pointed out, do remember to 未雨绸缪 as marriage now very ex...even saying "I do" also subject to inflation... :\

    Looking forward to the future post on your next milestone, Cheers! =)

    1. Thank you! Yes, I've signed up for SC unlimited cashback but have not utilised it. I'm trying to hit my spendings in BOC cc to get my interest, but sometimes, I dont hit $500 spendings via card.

      Thanks for your kind sharing!!

  3. Great work in building up your net worth at a young age! *impressed*
    You should consider parking your spare cash in SG Government saving bonds to make your money work harder than fixed deposits. My humble thoughts =)

    1. Thank you :) I've no benchmark so I don't know if I'm saving a lot more than others. But I will say that I'm quite proud of my savings, at least I've a decent emergency fund to dig into.

      I've parked some money in the saving bonds but not much as I prefer the liquidity 1 year FDs have :)

    2. I wasn't able to achieve 100K cash on hand before 28, which you did so it is impressive lah!
      My emergency fund is lesser than yours as I keep it to the minimum (6 months salary) plus excess cash on hand to spend and pay bills.

      SG saving bonds are more liquid with no withdrawal penalty within 5 days (similar to withdrawal of SGX-listed equities processing time). If you want the money to work harder for you in medium term (10 years max), the cumulative half-yearly bond coupon payouts are still better than FDs though your point on FDs' 1 year liquidity is correct.

      Let us continue the journey towards being financially savvy here, Cherry!

    3. SSB also help you to reduce your effort to hunt for FD. And you can do partial redeem. So more time for you to hunt for other rebates.


Post a comment

No rude messages please. Unkind messages and spams will be blocked and deleted.

Popular posts from this blog

Extremely bad start with UOB One

With the influx of posts on social media re UOB One (psst on grabpay) and the receipt of my house keys, I decided it was the time to sign up for a UOB One account plus credit card.

It was gonna be the best tool for household joint expenses and joint savings.

However, I've faced multiple hiccups that made me VERY frustrated....WHY ME?!
1. Delayed approving process led to losing out of sign up bonus
First, I signed up for the UOB One card and Account in early Oct through Singsaver's promotion. The promotion said that I'd get to enjoy cash incentive for registration + UOB's promotion of $80 cash credit with min $1k spent within 30 days of card approval. Mind you, these terms were stated to end on 31 Oct, extracted below:

S$80 Cash Credit for UOB One Account: Limited to the first 500 new to UOB Deposits customers who either (i) deposit and maintain $5,000 or (ii) credit their salary, into their new UOB account for 6 consecutive months. Terms and conditions of the UOB Online …

What the luck? DBS and OCBC banking tokens died!

What luck. My ibanking tokens went dead one after another.

OCBC Token

First was my OCBC token. It said "low battery", but I ignored it.

And when I finally need to use it, it was dead. Granted that I could use SMS OTP, I had to make a big transfer to other banks and it was over the withdrawal limits. And to do that, I needed the ibanking token.

And serve me right for not activating the onetoken.

In the end, I had to call in to OCBC call centre for a replacement. 7 working days, they said. What a long wait.

In the midst of it, I needed to make my interbank transfers. I even went down to OCBC bank and explored a stupid manual way i.e to withdraw cash and deposit into the other bank. But the moment they told me they ran out of big notes, I got scared.

While waiting for the token to arrive, I figured I could actually do transfers in smaller amounts, but had to bear with a daily cap. Sigh.

And, one week later, my OCBC token arrived.

How efficient.

DBS token

And it was time, the DBS …

Ending 2019 with extra $6,000 in CPF

One of the best feelings in the world is seeing more $ in my accounts.

At the end of 2019, I received an extra $6,000 for my CPF.

Total CPF stands at $140k. I intend to top up $7,000 into my SA this month for tax-relief purposes.

Have you checked out yours yet? :)